It’s never too late for love!

Now to mix it up a bit! The best example I have is when I made a batch of Valentine cards. This is when I really started to experiment and once I started I could hardly stop. There is so much that you can do with leftovers!

So what will you need? Here’s a list of suggestions:

  1. Todo machine with smooth plate and red foil;
  2. Glitter card-black, red and gold;
  3. Heart themed embossing folders;
  4. Texture stamps , I’ve used what I had in my stash-two from Sam Poole designs, one from Indigoblu and another from Inkylicious;
  5. Dies. I’ve used small hearts and sentiments from Sara Davies signiture collection, Love and Romance, also some sentiment stamps from the same range. I also used my larger heart dies from Tattered Lace;
  6. Black and white card;
  7. Black ink-Archival;
  8. Coloured gems for a bit of sparkle!

    I started by foiling a heart embossing folder with red foil using the same technique described in my previous post. I did this a few times using different folders and different card to experiment with texture.I also did some block foil in red. I then decided to cut some small hearts in plain white card in different sizes using my dies and a die cutting machine (you could use Todo when the hot plate cooled) I placed them on top of one of the ‘reverse’ foil sheets (the foil left after the¬†embossed design has been transferred to the main card) When these were run through the machine the hearts pick up an abstract pattern. I kept these for later.I repeated the same technique on the block red foil this left four white heart shapes on the foil. I transferred this to white card and cut it out with a large heart die.Next I added texture to the white hearts by stamping patterns in the centres, making sure to mask the red foil. I edged the large heart with a black alcohol marker.I thought this would look nice mounted on to a foiled patterned back ground, raised up with foam pads for added dimension.I added some swirly black gems and a few die cut sentiments, cutting ‘love’ in glitter card. Finally I mounted it all on to a black card.IMG_2306

    Here are a few more examples using both the positive and negative foil. One card’s left over is the next card’s feature. I felt inspired to be a bit more creative with my die cutting.I should also say that I really enjoyed using Sara’s love signature collection from crafter’s companion. As you can see I became a bit obsessed with the Love die!

    You have got to have a go. Only nine more months to practice for St Valentine’s day!

image

Leave a Reply

